Belt Grades

BeltsJudo uses a progression system to promote participants who have attained specific skill and knowledge proficiencies.  This progression is tracked using different colours of belts. The progression system is divided in two:

Kyu Grades (White to Brown)

The Kyu grades are White, White-Yellow, Yellow, Yellow-Orange, Orange, Orange-Green, Green, Green-Blue, Blue, Blue-Brown & Brown.  These levels are designed to progressively learn the judo techniques and culture.  The Kyu grades are defined in the Kyu Grading Syllabusand are managed by the clubs throughout Canada.

White-Yellow (to be updated)
Yellow – Yellow Belt Grading
Yellow-Orange (to be updated)
Orange (to be updated)
Orange-Green (to be updated)
Green (to be updated)
Green- Blue (to be updated)
Blue (to be updated)
Blue-Brown (to be updated)
Brown (to be updated)


Dan Ranks (Black)

The Dan ranks include the 10 degrees of the Black belt: Shodan, Nidan, Sandan, Yondan, Godan, Rokudan, Shichidan, Hachidan, Kudan & Judan.  These levels are designed to perfect judo techniques and to help develop the culture.  The Dan ranks are defined in the Dan Grading Syllabus and are managed by the Provincial/Territorial Grading Boards as well as Judo Canada’s Grading Board.